Random Thoughts: Why I Blog

Today, I give way to a journal entry written by my father, Joel.

After getting tagged by Chino Yray, Level Up! Games brand manager for Ragnarok Online Carlo Ople has chosen to inflict on me the dreaded task of explaining why I blog. It’s probably his way of turning the tables on me, since I get to interview him often for stories I write for GAME! Magazine. Whatever. Okay, let’s finish this.

The Top 5 Reasons Why I Blog:

1. To expand my horizons as an individual. Personal growth—be it for relationships, careers, or some other worthwhile cause—should never be discounted. The Internet has opened up millions of possibilities, from journeying to untold worlds nestling comfortably in the minds of millions of other individuals to checking out the latest trends in technology or (gasp!) fashion. It’s up to us, however, to move our sorry behinds and go through those portals of opportunities the web opens.

2. To share my experiences with others and open myself to the lessons others have learned through their own experiences. I view blogging as having conversations at a much larger scale. In the World Wide Web, you’ll encounter millions of other people from as many different backgrounds—all with a story or two to share from where you can draw inspiration.

3. To find other people who share my views of the world. Earth is getting smaller every day, figuratively speaking, of course, and I’m sure that there are others out there who, like me, think we can build a better world by joining hands towards a common goal.

4. To have an outlet for my angst, my fears, and my frustrations, knowing that somebody else out there shares these feelings who can contribute ideas on how to beat the crap out of these negative emotions. Everybody has a dark side, but not everyone can conquer or master it, even with the help of others.

5. And the most important of all … to leave my daughter a lasting legacy. I want to share with my daughter, and my other, future children, everything that transpires in their lives. It’s one thing to hear or read about history in textbooks and another to hear history directly from one’s parents.

Well, that’s about it. I’ve got a million other thoughts to share, but my mind can only handle so much. It’s time to pass the torch. I pick Erwin, Joey, Melai, Noemi, and Lorelle. Do tell us, why do you blog?

Thanks, Dad. I love you.

[rockyou id=63399055&w=426&h=320]

3 Responses

  1. haha.. It’s a good way anyway to distribute your link. hehe

  2. awwww… so sweet.

    My Top 5 Reasons are here

  3. […] I’ve been tagged? Yes and no. It’s the second meme for Ceskypooh’s World. The first meme, however, was answered by my dad, since the questions were directed at him. So, yes, this is the […]

Leave a Reply

